As many states slowly but surely start moving forward with the reopening phases and transition to the next steps while dealing with this current pandemic, New York’s stay-at-home order has been extended another month.

According to the New York Post, New York’s stay-at-home order was set to expire on Friday, but Governor Cuomo announced that the order has now been extended until June 13th. In his executive order, it says, “Both travel-related cases and community contact transmission of COVID-19 have been documented in New York State and are expected to continue.”

The order, which was signed on Thursday continued to state, “All enforcement mechanisms by state or local governments shall continue to be in full force and effect until June 13, 2020, unless later extended or amended by a future Executive Order.”

As New York continues to move forward with flattening the curve, Governor Cumo also announced this week that Central New York had become the fifth of the state’s 10 economic regions that are eligible for the first phase of reopening once the statewide “Pause” order was scheduled to expire on Friday.

The other regions that have met the requirements North Country, the Southern Tier, Mohawk Valley and the Finger Lakes.

Governor Cuomo has been taking all precautions to help to flatten the curve in the New York area. As we previously reported, back in April he raised the fine to $1,000 to those who fail to follow protocol and social distance from one another.


Want tea directly in your text inbox? Hit us up at 917-722-8057 or click here to join!


TSR STAFF: Jade Ashley @Jade_Ashley94